Award Winning
Attorneys

How long do you have to file an Ohio accident claim?

On Behalf of | Apr 7, 2022 | Personal Injury |

Being involved in an accident is scary, overwhelming, and can cause a lot of questions. After an accident occurs, you may not know what to do or where to turn. 

While this is true, you can’t wait too long to act. Doing so may eliminate your ability ever to recover compensation for your injuries and damages. 

How much time do you have to file an accident claim?

The statute of limitations in Ohio for filing an accident claim for a collision that causes an injury or damage to personal property is just two years from the accident date. If two years passed from when your accident occurred and you still file a claim, it will likely be dismissed in court. 

Are there exceptions to this law?

There are a few exceptions to the two-year statute of limitations. For example, if a minor is involved in an accident, they have two years from when they turn 18 years of age to file an accident claim. So, if the individual is 17-years-old when the accident occurs, they will have three years total to file the accident claim. 

Another exception is if you don’t discover you were injured until days or weeks after the accident occurs. In this case, the two-year statute of limitations starts on the date the injury was discovered. It’s essential to have medical reports and documentation to prove this is the case. 

Protecting your rights to accident compensation

After an accident, it’s important to be evaluated by a medical professional and contact the police. If the accident was caused by someone else, it’s also smart to start the process of filing a lawsuit. Doing this can help ensure you don’t miss the deadline and lose your right to compensation for your injuries and damages. 

FindLaw Network